It’s girl time!

I am finally back :)

PMS… yes, as in premenstrual syndrome. A big one! Fear and respected by men and women all over the world.

pms

I started thinking about it a few weeks ago, when this strange force took over my body and mind (made me remember highschool) and gave me a big black cloud to carry around in my back for some part of my day.

According to the mayo clinic web PMS has a wide variety of symptoms. An estimated 3 of every 4 menstruating women experience some form of premenstrual syndrome. These problems tend to peak during your late 20s and early 30s. Symptoms tend to recur in a predictable pattern. Yet the physical and emotional changes you experience with premenstrual syndrome may be particularly intense in some months and only slightly noticeable in others.

The symptoms you can present are:

  • Tension or anxiety
  • Depressed mood
  • Crying spells
  • Mood swings and irritability or anger
  • Appetite changes and food cravings
  • Trouble falling asleep (insomnia)
  • Social withdrawal
  • Poor concentration
  • Joint or muscle pain
  • Headache
  • Fatigue
  • Weight gain related to fluid retention
  • Abdominal bloating
  • Breast tenderness
  • Acne flare-ups
  • Constipation or diarrhea

So basically you can present one, two, three or any combo of the treasures mention above or nothing at all. All of this because of some tiny, little and extremely necessary hormones.

I think every women I know has experience some kind of PMS, we all know how it feels to be bloated or having a need of chocolate (or in my case pickles) that you can’t control, or how your boobs hurt even with the air, or you start crying because you lost your pen. But today my beautiful readers I want to address the “Emotional symptoms”.

Is my personal belief that there is no women between the age of 15 and up (maybe even younger) that haven’t once in her life used some kind of variation of the phrase “I’m sorry it’s the hormones” to either get out of a fight, justify her bad mood or look for pampering, even in perfectly normal free period, free hormones day. Because let’s be honest, most of the guys have no clue and the girls won’t fight you about it. But careful ladies is a doblevision weapon.

So to the point… My experience with PMS

Normally the “symptoms” that I have are basically emotional madness and crazy cravings, I get really emotional, irritable and/or angry (stand ovation to the boyfriend) and a few years ago I was that girl, I blame every “bad” emotion (sadness, neediness, angriness) to my hormones to avoid dealing with them and suddenly one day people where asking me if I was hormonal or saying things like “don’t listen to her she’s PMS. And it was my responsibility, I gave my hormones all the power and in doing so I was taking away my right to have an opinion, to feel sad or angry. I was diminishing my feelings and saying that I didn’t have a reason to feel… that it was all my hormones.

I didn’t like that…at all.

So I started to change the vision that I had of myself and I projected to the world. I understood that I may not be in control of my hormones but they are certainly not in control of me either. And I wasn’t going to let my cycle define me.

I think that the purpose of this post is to empower women, to let them know that this is some of those things that we CAN control. We all have a decision to make. And I am not saying in any way that we are not more emotional… because we are and that is biological, our levels of hormones changes and that increases our propensity to mood swings but is not set on stone, we don’t have to have the mood swings. We have a choice: to know ourselves, accepted us and take control.

My tips on dealing with PMS:

  1. Feel! Don’t use PMS as a way to not deal with your emotions.
  2. Realize that what we think and perceive becomes our personal reality, so if you think you can’t control it, you won’t.
  3. Learn what YOU need. For example, when I feel angry out of the blue I know being alone works for me, I listen to music, watch a movie, read, breathe.
  4. Have control over your calendar (please!) when you know that you are in fact hormonal is easier for you to not get carried away.
  5. Pamper yourself, indulge in your cravings, not in excess, but let yourself do it.

I invite all of you girls reading this to make a promise to yourself: that you will never hide your feelings or emotions behind your hormones. Take control and be sure that you are more than your biology.

Y tú, ¿Qué opinas?

